Copyright © 2016 The Philip Merrill Center for Strategic Studies

 The Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS)

The Johns Hopkins University

The Philip Merrill Center for Strategic Studies

1619 Massachusetts Avenue NW

Washington, DC 20036



The National Security Scholars and Practitioners Program (NSSPP) is a weeklong workshop that gathers a diverse group of professionals in the early-to-mid phases of their careers to explore the character of contemporary war and its future.

The National Security Scholars and Practitioners Program (NSSPP) draws on a diverse group of professionals and academics in the early-to-mid phases of their careers with a view to developing the next cadre of strategic scholars and practitioners. The 2019 NSSPP built off of last year’s superlative inaugural program, which, as one participant described it, established “the schoolhouse for developing strategic thinking about the future of war.” The program took place at the Basin Harbor Club in Vergennes, Vermont from 3 to 7 June 2019.

The program focused on contemporary war and its future. Participants considered the state of strategic thought on this subject, U.S. competitive advantages and disadvantages, the U.S. assessment of the big questions in the changing nature of conflict, alternative scenarios, and implications for the United States, including its policy and force structure. In exploring these issues, the participants were complemented by senior scholar-teachers and distinguished guests who joined both the formal program and informal discussions.

2019 Cohort

Chris Bassler, U.S. Department of Defense

Caroline C. Baxter, RAND Corporation

Yara Bayoumy, The Atlantic

Marguerite Rivard Benson

Laura G. Brent, NATO

Jacob Cohn, Center for Strategic and Budgetary Assessments

Luke Collin, U.S. Department of Defense

Robert Cowden, National Intelligence Council

Jud Crane, National Commission on Military, National, and Public Service

John W. Hall, University of Wisconsin-Madison/Joint Chiefs of Staff

Tim Hwang, MIT/Harvard University

Mariam Jalalzada, Special Inspector General for Afghanistan Reconstruction

Louis Lauter, Center for Strategic and International Studies

Eric Lindsey, Northrup Grumman Aerospace Systems

Matthew Lundgren, George Mason University

Dan Magruder, U.S. Air Force

Jenny Marron, U.S. Department of State

Aaron Mehta, Defense News

Jim Mitre, Govini

Craig Neuman, U.S. Air Force

Henry Nuzum, Central Gulf Lines, Inc. and Waterman Steamship Corp.

Katherine Obradovich, U.S. Department of Defense

Alex Pascal, Macro Advisory Partners

Jim Perkins, Amazon Web Services

Kaleb Redden, U.S. Department of Defense

Andrew Scott, U.S. Government

Hope Hodge Seck,

Lizzy Shackelford, Independent Consultant

Nina S. Wagner, U.S. Department of Defense

Jonathan Welch, RAND Corporation, USMR

2018 Cohort

Michael Albertson, U.S. Department of State

Brian Arakelian, U.S. Department of Defense

Susanna Blume, Center for a New American Security

Anna Borshchevskaya, Washington Institute for Near East Policy

Luke Condra, University of Pittsburgh

Scott Cooper, Human Rights First

Matthew Cordova, U.S. Department of Defense

Scott Cuomo, Georgetown University

Jessie Evans, Independent Consulting

Greg Grant, U.S. Department of Defense

Christopher Hamner, George Mason University

Jacob Heim, RAND Corporation

Kate Higgins-Bloom, Brookings Institution

Michael Hunzeker, George Mason University

Brian Katz, U.S. Government

Miriam Krieger, U.S. Air Force Academy

Michael O'Hara, U.S. Naval War College

Matthew O'Kane, Office of Management and Budget

Mira Rapp-Hooper, Yale Law School

Eric Reid, U.S. Department of Defense

John Schutte, U.S. Air Force

Erin Sikorsky, National Intelligence Council

Erin Simpson, Northrup Grumman Corporation

Sarah Wildman, Foreign Policy

Matthew Williams, U.S. Senate



Join Our Mailing List